DelphesPythia8 to do hadronisation on top of MG5_aMC@NLO file?

Dear experts,

I am new to FCC software, and have been following the online tutorial available from github. I managed to produce some analysis trees/histograms for signal and background samples, so far so good.

My signal sample is produced using Madgraph5_aMC@NLO to generate the parton-level, and I would like then to have Pythia8 do the hadronisation, and finally run Delphes.

Following the tutorial, I ran simply DelphesPythia8 with the Pythia configuration to run on an external LHE file, but then it is not doing the hadronisation, and I believe it neither understands correctly my signal particles (new scalars from the iDM model) which should appear as invisible but are clustered into jets somehow.

May you have some pointers or available examples to do this hadronisation step within DelphesPythia8 ? And give to Pythia8 the knowledge on how to handle the new particles ?

Or should I be doing that hadronisation step directly in Madgraph interfaced with Pythia8? About this last point, it seems that the MG5_aMC@NLO version available within FCCSW is not compiled with Pythia8 so I guess it would mean I need to reinstall MG5 myself…

Many thanks in advance for your help,
Best regards,
Anne-Marie.

Hi @amagnan,

Welcome to the FCCSW forum :slight_smile:

Can you share one of the LHE files you generated?

Do you use LHE to EM4hep converter?
Example here.

The MG5_aMC@NLO package in FCCSW(Key4hep) stack is described here. And ATM there is no dependency on Pythia8.

Best,
Juraj

Hi !
Thanks for the quick reply ! You can find an example LHE file here:

/eos/user/a/amagnan/FCC/iDMprod/h2h2ll/LHEevents_e240_bp1.lhe.gz

Can you access this file?

The production is e e > l+ l- h2 h2 using the iDM UFO model (h2 is pid 36).